GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Right Beside Me

“I know the LORD is always with me. I will not be shaken, for he is right beside me.” Psalms‬ ‭16:8‬ ‭NLT. Knowledge of God’s presence provides strength and stability to walk through even the most difficult valleys.  

This week has been challenging to say the least.  The tables were somewhat turned – normally I am the one sitting with people in hopes of bringing them comfort during the valleys of life, but this time it was me and those closest to me who were going through the valley.  Watching someone, that you love dearly, struggle through their last years of life is difficult, but watching them struggle to breathe and waiting for them to pass into eternity is excruciating.  Thus has been the last few years as I watched my dad struggle with the affects of Alzheimer’s/ Dementia as well as other physical and mental diseases.  I didn’t always understand why God would allow these struggles, but I found solace in knowing that He was with us as we walked through them.  I was right beside my dad, just as he had been right beside me throughout my life, as he breathed his last and left the room to go and be with Jesus.  

I think that I have done pretty good to help others but now I needed help myself and I knew that my family needed me to help them as we gathered for my dad’s funeral.  I wanted to honor my dad by preaching his funeral,  but I wasn’t sure that I could hold it all together to share words of hope and comfort.  Remarkably both myself and my brother, who led us in singing a couple of hymns, not only held it together, but clearly pointed others to the hope that manifested itself through our lives this day as we celebrated my dad’s life and shared Jesus with all who had gathered.  How?  Only through God’s presence and provision, knowing that He has gone before us and that He is still beside us gave us a great sense of peace and strength as we talked about faith in Jesus and the eternal hope that we have in Him. We leaned into His presence and found comfort as we thought about dad’s presence now with Him.   

Faith in and focus on God’s presence is the key to making it through the low spots in life.   I encourage you to find strength to press on and push through in knowing that God is with you.‬‬  So whatever you are facing today, know that you are not alone.  God is aware of your situation and there with you to lead you through.  

March 12, 2017 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment