GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

It’s Monday

Mondays can be tough days…can you relate?  Monday means back to the grindstone, no more weekend of recreation and relaxation but instead back to work and the weekly routine.  So how can Monday become a day that we are energized by the promise of another week that we enjoy, instead of the start of the days that we endure to just countdown to the weekend?

Well today I decided to start with giving thanks — first thanking God that he loves me just as I am and is patiently working to reshape my life so that I can live up to the potential that he has placed before me. (Philippians 1:6, Hebrews 12,1,2)  I thanked him for another day of life and for the life with which he has blessed me. (John 10:10)  I thanked God that I get to serve him and even get paid for it…I thanked him for allowing me to represent him in the lives of others and for the weekly opportunity to speak his truth into the lives of others.  I thanked him for all of the people that serve along with me here at Brightside Church as I walked around the various classrooms and ministry settings.  (Romans 12:3-8)

As well as thanking him for what he has done I am praying expectantly with thanksgiving for all that he is yet to do.  Holding onto his promises of continuing to work all things together for good as I strive to fulfill his purposes for me.  (Philippians 4:6,7, Romans 8:28)  I am learning to trust him more each day, even on Monday – He who has promised us his constant love and care is faithful.

This approach is working for me, I would ask you to give it a try.  How are you doing this Monday?  I encourage you to begin with giving thanks and then releasing the burdens on your heart to God.  He tells us that we can come to him boldly and find mercy and the help we need, even on Monday. (Hebrews 4:16)  So lets look forward to today and each day this week, anticipating more of God’s blessings and provisions as we pursue his purpose and live out his plans.  I am praying for you on this wonderful Monday – our start to another great week with our Father God who loves us more than we can possible understand.  (Matthew 6:25-34)

February 2, 2015 Posted by | Uncategorized | , | 1 Comment