GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

A message to my kids

I was thinking about you today and praying that God would draw you very close to him and guide your steps.  While I was praying I began to think and pray about your future…thinking about your hopes and dreams.  I found myself wondering if you think that you are getting closer to achieving them or if they seem to be slipping away.  Again praying that you can find your way and realize that God knows the best way to a hope – filled future.

It wasn’t long ago, well maybe a few years ago now, that I was where you are –  Wandering through life and wondering where I would end up…thinking that I was going in the right direction while at the same time questioning if I was doing anything right or at least anything that was going to amount to anything. Many times I remember just sitting and wondering what I should be doing with my life and thinking that I must be missing something because everything is so uncertain.  Other times I did what I thought was right only to later find out that it wasn’t the best idea.

So what’s a person to do?  How do you know what to do with your life so that you can find hope and a positive futue?  Seek God and His direction. Think through the verse that is on the wall in our house: Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. This is part of a passage of Scripture where God is speaking to his people after they had wandered off in their own ways and found themselves experiencing the consequences of their choices  and then wondering what to do next.  God told them that He would listen to their prayers and that if they would seek him with all of their heart, that they would find him.  Even though they took some steps in the wrong direction God said that there was still hope if they turned to Him and sought Him. He said that he had a plan to give them a hope – filled future.

I have had to learn the hard way to many times…now I am trying to learn to seek God first, asking Him about what to do and how to do it.  I am trying to put him first and offering my life to him so that I can enjoy His hope and the future He has planned for me.  I love you all more than words can express, and I am praying that you will follow my advice and seek God with all of your heart so that you might find your way.   I don’t have it all figured out, but I am asking God to guide me and you in steps that lead to a hope – filled future and life.

December 8, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

