GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

The mind is a battlefield

What are you thinking or what were you thinking? This is a question that we often pose to someone who is doing something strange or out of place. But I am learning that it is a question that we should ask more of ourselves. Frankly the answer to that question sometimes scares me…the thoughts that are in my head are often surprising. Thoughts that are obviously not from God but from my own sinfulness or from the sinful world in which we live. Thoughts that weigh me down and leave me discouraged. How can these thoughts exist in the same place with thoughts that are clearly from God? The answer, the mind is a battlefield…our own flesh, the influence of the world, and the devil are at war with the Spirit of God fighting for the space in my head.

So what can we do about it…Ask God to renew our minds. Acknowledge the Holy Spirit and ask him to transform our minds through His Word. This is a daily process…I have found that I can choose which thoughts to focus or meditate on.

One way is praying and meditating on Scripture. This week I am doing this with Psalm 23. I am going to take a verse each day, turn it into a prayer, think on it throughout the day, and try to memorize it. The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

Lord God my Father, you are the caretaker of my soul, my shepherd. I am a sheep of your pasture. Lead me to the nourishment that I need. Protect me from the wolves (discouraging thoughts) that are out to devour me. God help me to find my hope, my help, and my contentment in you. Thank you for your constant care.

What are you thinking? Think about our shepherd, The LORD. He cares for you and me. Know that the LORD is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Psalm 100:3  

Remember that Jesus is our great shepherd and came to give us abundant life, but the theif comes to kill, to steal, and destroy.  John 10:10

November 4, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

