GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Worry wears me out

What if? These are two words that will literally wear us out. Those of us that worry, find ourselves asking them throughout our day. What if there is another way to live? Instead of spending so much energy on anxiety why not be energized by giving all of our “what if” scenarios to God in prayer.

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life. (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭6-7‬ MSG)

What if we could just learn that God is with us, each step of the way. Our lives are in His hands. Here is the problem with worries, they don’t just leave us emotionally and physically exhausted, they exhaust our spiritual energy as well because they distract us from realizing God’s presence and activity. So let’s choose to pray about everything, fully trusting that God is good and has a plan for us. What if we let it go, trusting everything to Him?

Here is a simple prayer that I am praying…God you are good. You sent Jesus to die so I could live, you bought me back from a life of sin. Help me to not be consumed with what if, but instead to be aware of your presence. Help me to be in awe of you and not in awe of my circumstance. As I give you my worries fill my life with your peace. My life is in your hands.

October 27, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

