GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

The Path- where is it leading me?

Last night I was reminded of an important principle…direction, not intention, determines our destination. I was at a friend’s house for a Monday Night Football Men’s group and we were watching Andy Stanley teach from Proverbs 7.

Here is the gist of what I learned:

The paths that I am taking today determine whether I reach the destinations that I am hoping to reach in the future. No matter where I intend to go, if I am on a path that leads somewhere else I cannot possibly reach the destination that I intended to reach.

I need to look to those who have been down the paths before for guidance, their wisdom can help me to avoid a disastrous destination.

The reason that we get so enamored with the wrong path is because we are emotionally attached to whatever is leading us down this path…it has me so focused on the immediate that I can’t see the danger and if I don’t get off of this path it will cause me to miss the ultimate.

Each of us must honestly consider the direction that we are going and ask ourselves if we are headed towards the destination that we want to reach. Is this path leading me to where I want to end up?

My prayer – God show me the truth of where this path is leading me? Give me the wisdom to choose the right paths and the courage to take a different one if I am on the wrong one.  Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your paths.  Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.  Psalm 25: 4,5

September 16, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

