GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Hope in the midst of adversity

Many times I’m asked or find myself asking why God allows some of the adversity that He does. I know that we should expect adversity, Jesus said it would come – “In this world you will have trouble.” John 16:33 We don’t have to live long to see the reality of His statement to those early followers, but we can also find hope and strength by holding on to His encouragement:”take heart! I have overcome the world”.

I don’t always understand why God allows adversity, but I am learning some things that help me to hold on to hope in the midst of it. Here are some things that God is teaching me:

•sometimes my hope is misplaced in the good things that God has given to me instead of in God himself
•hope in the good things is only helpful when it all goes the way that I expect or think that I deserve
•hope in God is the only sure and lasting hope because it alone can satisfy and will last forever
•I may not attain what I hope for in this life but any adversity that I face will not compare to the life that is promised to me in Christ
•God never wastes my pain, but allows it for His purposes to be carried out in me
•Trusting God can be difficult when I don’t understand why he has allowed certain difficulties, but I can trust him because He is good and has shown me His love
•Reading about God’s faithfulness to others helps me to remember that He will be faithful to me…not that He will do everything the way that I think that he should but that He will carry out His plans and purposes in my life and never leave me alone

I have learned these things through reading of God’s faithfulness and His promises in the Bible. Here are some of the passages that I draw strength from: Romans 8, Psalm 37, Proverbs 3:5-9, 2 Corinthians 4, and Philippians 4. I pray that you will find strength to carry you through whatever you may be facing today. Remember God loves you and is at work – He will finish the work that He has started in you. We are not home yet, just passing through this life and being used by God to share the story of hope that we have found in Jesus.

August 18, 2014 - Posted by | discipleship, hope

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

