GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

When the wheel falls off

So this morning on my way to our Monday morning bible study the wheel literally fell off of my truck. Can I say that this isn’t a great way to start your day or your week. It seems that the wheel bearing froze up and the studs in the wheel hub sheered off. Thankfully it made it to my mechanics driveway. One thing you can know for sure – when the wheel falls off you have to stop.

So how do you handle it when the wheels seems to be falling off? Well for me I stopped to give thanks that God watched over me and I didnt get into an accident. Then as I shared what happened with my wife, I looked to the Scriptures to encourage my own heart and hers…sharing with her Lamentations 3:19-25. Focusing on the fact that God knows…he isn’t surprised and our world isn’t spinning out of control or coming crashing down. Instead, God is faithful and while we cannot understand why the “wheels seem to be falling off” of more than just the car, He cares and is able and willing to help. We may have to wait upon Him and even change our plans, but the only way to stay encouraged and to keep moving forward is to trust Him.

So although the wheel fell off I am still moving. I am still looking forward to that which God is doing in and around me, for great is His faithfulness…He proved that when He sent His son to pay for my sin and to change my life forever. Romans 5:8-10 assures us that since we were saved by His death we will be sustained by His life. I am confident that He is still at work…He is aware and is working to finish the good work that He began in me. Philippians 1:6, Hebrews 12:1,2

So if your wheel falls off or it just seems like life is going that way…trust in God, for great is His faithfulness. Maybe God is just trying to get your attention and reminding you that He is there and that He will not let you down.

January 13, 2014 - Posted by | discipleship, hope

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

