GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Anticipation of Christmas

As we think of Christmas anticipation, what is it that we are anticipating?  Gifts, shopping, and exchanges? Family gatherings, cooking, and getting along with loved ones?  Stress, sorrow, debt, and discouragement?

Shouldn’t Christmas leave us anticipating hope, joy, and peace?  Can it? Will it?  This depends upon what the focus of our celebration is…all of the things that we have added to Christmas, or the coming of God to be with us?  (Immanuel – Matthew 1:23)

This week I have found my feelings faltering and dragging me down – My anticipation has seemed to be more about frustration and anxiety than it has been about joy and peace.  Instead of hoping for a wonderful season I have felt more like the Grinch.  Why?  Focus…to many difficult situations and circumstances have found their way and have been consuming my thoughts.  So I have resorted to talking to my self – Instead of listening to disparaging & overwhelming thoughts of things that are out of my control I am reminding myself of Scriptural Truth.  (After all Jesus said, “the truth will set you free”.)

One of the verses that shouts truth the loudest to me is Isaiah 9:6…For a child is born to us a son is given to us.  The government will rest on his shoulders.  And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.   Here I find these truths about God to focus on – He has:

  • all the wisdom that I need – no problems are to big for him to solve
  • the ability to empower me to carry out his wise counsel
  • the sovereign control over all of life and is my heavenly father who is governing my life and the world around me
  • made peace with and for me, entering my world and then giving up his life so I could have life – He who has power to calm the storm can handle any difficulties that blow my way

As I listen to this truth, a wonderful realization overcomes my thoughts and my focus changes to a celebration that God has entered my life and is walking each day with me.  The more I learn of His awesome love for me and the grace that he offers, the more I am filled with hope, joy, and peace.

So if you are having some struggles getting into the “Christmas Spirit” and this Christmas season is becoming dreadful instead of delightful   –  I encourage you to speak to yourself the truth of Scripture.  Then join me in celebrating the coming of God through the birth of Christ and in looking forward to His return.  (Acts 1:11, John 14:1-6)

Let’s experience His hope – may joy and peace flood our hearts as the “Spirit of Christ(mas) leads us through the truth of the Scriptures.

December 5, 2013 - Posted by | hope

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

