GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Thankful?

There are many things for which I am very thankful:

– God’s amazing grace
– my beautiful wife
– my four kids
– my job… I love being a pastor
– that we got to meet Rhonda’s sister Karla
– our church
– several great friends
– my family
– my home

However there are some situations for which I am struggling to be thankful…I know that I am to give thanks in all circumstances and I am trying, but sometimes the difficulties and disappointments are overwhelming. In those times I am learning to pray, although sometimes I fret and frown for a while first. I am trying to focus, when life becomes unclear, by remembering that God is good even when things are not so good. In those things I am choosing to believe that God knows, he is not checking out on me. He is paying attention and is at work, even if it seems that he is not. I know because He is GOOD and all of life flows through his steadfast love. So struggle as I may, I am going to – “Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever (Psalm 107:1 NIV)”.

I am incredibly thankful that God is listening…he invites our prayers and in turn gives us His peace. I want you to know that you can press on, God will not let you down…he is faithful. (Psalm 34) Give God thanks for he is indeed good. I am praying for you and ask that you pray for me.

November 28, 2013 - Posted by | discipleship

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

