GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Almost my Birthday

Well another year of my life is coming to an end, in a few hours I will be 47. The age doesn’t bother me, it’s the passing of time and the hope that I am making the most of it. As I grow older I am realizing the importance of how I am spending the life that God has given me. Therefore, I am starting this year differently than I ever have before – with fasting and prayer. Instead of just trying to do better than last year, I am trusting in what God can do through me if I trust Him completely with my life. Many times I say that I trust him, but then find myself striving in my own strength, only to fall short of what I hope to accomplish. Here is my prayer list:

God help me to lead my family and friends in word and deed, help me to share your truth and to live out an example that others can follow. (Philippians 4:9)

God help me to lead your church, teaching them your ways and loving them as you love me. (Acts20:28)

God help me to be a godly man who leads my friends to follow Jesus, living as one who sharpens those around me. (proverbs 27:17)

God help me to love my wife as Christ loves the church, giving of myself to help her become the woman that you are calling her to be. (Ephesians 5:25-28)

God help me to be the kind of dad that you have called me to be, a dad who nurtures and admonishes my children to follow Jesus. (Ephesians 6:4)

These things are the things that I believe that God is calling me to trust Him to do in and through me, and I know that I can’t do it without help. Because of this I have asked several other men to join me in fasting and praying, joining our hearts together as we seek God’s power, presence, and provision to accomplish his plans. I also need you…please pray for me as I live this year according to God’s purpose.

October 23, 2013 - Posted by | discipleship

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

