GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Fasting Produces

Fasting produces results…I knew this from my biblical studies but never really thought about doing it on a regular basis. The last couple of weeks, I have fasted on Tuesday from 6pm to Wednesday 6pm. I don’t share that to share this for recognition or praise…and I don’t want to give you the impression that I am super spiritual. I was simply encouraged by a friend to join him and some other men in giving a day to God in which we would join our hearts in prayer for some common interests.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, I wasn’t sure that I could do it…go without food and drink only water? But I made it…yes my head hurt from the lack of caffeine, but I found that fasting helped me to focus on God and to turn to him much more through prayer. Each time I thought about eating or about coffee I prayed. The prayers were focused on things that God has been speaking into my life: leadership in my home, leadership in our church, the other guys that are doing the fast, and His will.

God is teaching me several things:

To depend upon Him
To trust him with things that I cannot do
To look to him for guidance
To consider others instead of being self-centered
To expect great things from God

Today I read and digested a couple of major themes in Daniel 9:

Pleading with God in prayer
Confession of sin
Asking for his grace and mercy
Trusting him for answers based on that mercy not on the basis of our assumed righteousness

I am thankful for the friends that are on the journey with me. I believe that God is at work and I am anticipating great things as we seek Him. You should take a day and fast …it will focus you upon God’s provision, presence, and power. Watching God grow you and your friends into the followers of Jesus that He is calling them to be is really exciting.

October 17, 2013 - Posted by | discipleship

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

