GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

God didn’t give me that gift

No doubt that God gives us specific gifts to use for His glory, however I think He also gives us a testimony to share His story.  That is the story of His provision and deliverance.  And that story can be a huge gift in itself. 

This past Sunday my wife shared her story of how God enabled and used her to help me fight through the valley of depression.  When I first mentioned that I thought she should share it she quickly responded that God did not give her the gift to speak, but then the Holy Spirit began to work on her. 

I am so glad that she listened…because as she spake God used her to help others who desperately needed to hear of His provision and enabling through a very difficult time.  God took her words and ministered His grace and comfort into the lives of others. 

So let me encourage you not to dismiss opportunities by reasoning that God hasn’t gifted you in that way.  Instead prayerfully consider how God may use you, take a deep breath and follow the Spirit’s direction. 

I  am so thankful for the blessing of a godly wife who will step out in faith and follow Jesus …through the valleys and in the victories.  She may not be “gifted to speak” but I know the words that God gave her were a gift to many.
 

March 6, 2013 - Posted by | hope, vision

1 Comment »

  1. You have no idea how you both inspire people and family alike no matter how far apart we may be.Grandma’s funeral was the first time I ever heard you speak and have thought about your words since. I am glad you have a place I can listen to your lesson I do enjoy listening to you speak.

    Comment by Valerie McGreal | March 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

