GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

It’s not all about you

“It’s not all about you” …these are the words that God shouts to me on a regular basis as I try to live up to my God-given potential.  So many times I get off track and begin to think I can do this, I got this.  After some futility and failing to achieve all that I had hoped, I am humbled and realize that it is a good thing that it is not all about me.  I must evaluate my life and situation correctly – …Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.  Romans 12:3

In Romans 12 God showed me five things that lead to me living up to the potential that He has given me.  Here they are:

  1. surrender completely to God – offer yourself to Him…remembering that He has offered Himself for you – in view of God’s mercy, offer your bodies as a living sacrifice…vs 1
  2. live according to the biblical principles – stop being shaped by the world around you and be transformed by the Spirit of God through the Word of God.  –do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind…vs2
  3. rely on God’s presence and the help of other people who are following Jesus…vs 4,5
  4. serve according to the way God has gifted you and is shaping you…vs 6-8; Ephesians 2:8-10
  5. live a life of love…love God and others sincerely – Romans 12:9-21

Life is a gift from God to be lived for His purpose and for His glory…He does not leave us to ourselves but is there with us each step of the way.  Instead of feeling like it is all about us as we try our best to live for God, let’s remember that He has given us all that we need and begin to live each day with God.

January 29, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

