GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Count it an opportunity for Joy

This past Sunday I shared a talk from James 1, where the Bible describes a life of faith.  It begins by saying, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy (vs. 2 NLT)   At first glance we think, say what?  Joy in troubles and trials?  But as we continue reading we learn about how God uses adversity to build us up, growing our endurance, strengthening our faith, and making us complete.

Well my week started with a bang, the offering wasn’t as good as I had hoped, I bent over to pick something up and the back spasms started, and then I found out my dad was in the hospital.  So did I consider it an opportunity for joy?  I wish I could say that I did, but I since have repented and asked God for wisdom to deal with it all.  I am thanking Him as I write for helping me to remember to depend upon Him.  As I remember to look to Him instead of focusing on all of the circumstances (that I cannot control anyway) I am considering it an opportunity for joy.  How? Because I believe that He is working it all out as part of His process to develop me and complete me.

He has shown me that I still have a ways to go and grow…I am so thankful for His faithfulness.  God thank you for always being there and providing all that I need to grow into who you are calling me to be.

Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.  James 1:2-4 the Message

January 23, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Thank your for sharing your personal trials as a means to encourage us! Much appreciated!

    Comment by Heidi | January 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

