GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

According to God’s Purpose

“for it is God who works in you 

to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose”

 Philippians 2:13

As I go through life I generally like to play by my rules, after all it is my life right?  Kinda sorta, but not really.  If I really believe that I was made by God and for God then I can also conclude that my life belongs to Him but has been given to me. (Colossians 1:15-20)   So should I live for by my rules or for His purposes?  Well I have tried my way and found that it is just futile…instead of finding the fulfillment that I strive for I am left disappointed and empty.  Why?  Because I was made for so much more – God’s eternal purpose.  So instead I have decided to follow Jesus and live for the Father’s purposes for me, to bring Him glory on the earth.

As my creator and my redeemer He is constantly and consistently at work to fulfill His purposes for me.  The more I understand this the clearer it becomes, I am here in the game of life because He put me here.  (Psalm 139:13,14)  So even though I struggle sometimes, trying to play by my own rules I am daily coming to God and saying, “here I am, use me as you will – whatever it takes to bring you glory.”  I am trying to live each day according to His purpose.

January 11, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

