GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Jesus – supreme in all

I read this phrase today,”…so that in everything he might have the supremacy. (Colossians 1:18 NIV)  It really has struck a chord with me to reflect and re-prioritize life – Is Jesus above everything in my daily life?  You might ask, isn’t it enough for him to be part of my life or to be first in a long list?  I don’t think so, I believe that He should be supreme in all – here are the reasons for me from Colossians 1:15-20:

  • He makes God visible – as He is the visible expression of God
  • He is the creator of life
  • He is before and or above all things
  • He is the head of the church
  • He is supreme – God and God alone!
  • He embodies the fullness of God
  • He reconciled me to God through His own blood
  • He is the author of life and the overcomer of death

He made me and you for Himself…we are a part of His creation and a part of His story.  He made us to glorify Him – that is to worship Him and make Him known.  I asked a question in our action plan for the week – what is the evidence to show that He is first?  But as I have studied this week, I realize that falls short.  He shouldn’t be part of a list of other things, but is supreme over all things.  He alone is God and deserves my worship…so instead of just trying to put Him first by doing what I think He wants me to, I am trying to live in a state of worship.  Daily expressing that He is God through the life that He has so graciously given me.  

January 2, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

