GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Gifts & Giving

Gifts are very much a part of all of our Christmases, the ones we will give and the ones we will receive.  Some that we will really like, some that we will put a lot of thought into, others that will just be so so, and those that will be last minute so that we can do our part of going through the motions.  But why all the focus on gifts?  For some it is all about obligation but for others it is about devotion.  For those of us who follow Christ, it should stem from our understanding of the gift that he has given us: peace and life with God.  This was the angels song of the angels, “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace and good will toward men”.  (Luke 2:14)  Through his birth, life, death, and resurrection Jesus made our peace with God a possibility.  We just need to believe, accept his gift, and give him our lives.

As I have been thinking and praying through this Christmas season, God has been challenging my heart about giving.   My response: I do give Lord, every week we tithe and give our offering.  He then brings to mind, yes but how are you investing in my work?  Do you give of yourself through prayer, considering how I might use you?  Do you give of your time and talent?  Do you consider all that you have as mine to use for my work or only that part which you set aside because you think you should give something?  This isn’t new for him, it is the pattern throughout the New Testament Church – God calls on his people to invest in his work in the lives of others … He does this work through his church.  He exemplified this sacrificial giving, so that his work could be done, by giving of himself.  He became one of us through the virgin birth as Jesus the Creator, became a part of His own creation and then gave his very own life so that we could have life.

So as God has challenged me I have questioned Him, “Father can I really give more?”  If I give the way that you gave, will I have anything left?  His response, “And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” (2Corinthians 9:8)  As I read of his giving and of his response to my giving, I see that I cannot out give God.  As I give myself and of the gifts that he has given me to his work of giving others the gift of Christ I receive far more…his grace abounds and I am given more than I can imagine.

If you truly want to enjoy gifts & giving this Christmas pray through 2 Corinthians 9:6-15, consider God’s gift to us and how he continues to give, and in response give yourself fully to his work.  Remember he works through his people who make up his church – find a church to support through your gifts, both financially and functionally.  If you have your own Bible teaching church give there, but if you need a place to give please consider checking out Brightside.org and follow the giving link.  Let’s all get into the spirit of giving as we interact with God’s Spirit who has been given to us.  Thanks to God who invites us to be involved in his work.

December 11, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

