GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Presence

Someone has rightfully said, “wherever I go, I am always there”.  Kinda funny but very true…I am wherever I go, that seems quite obvious.  However something that isn’t always obvious to us is that wherever we go, God is always there.  This past Sunday I listened to a friend share this very truth, from Psalm 139…

You go before me and follow me.  You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me too great for me to understand!  I can never escape from your Spirit!  I can never get away from your presence!  If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there.  If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.  vs 5-10

Understanding that God is always with us is pivotal to us maintaining hope and to us being consistent in sharing that hope with others.  As God’s people we become the vessels through which God speaks…he reveals himself to us that he might reveal himself through us.  God is always with us through his Spirit, but often reveals himself to us through others in whom his Spirit resides.

Although we somewhat understand this there are those times that we feel like God has left us alone and we struggle to maintain hopefulness, we find ourselves asking, “where is God now?”.  We often miss his message of comfort, grace, encouragement, and or truth because we don’t remember his vessels – He often brings those things that we find in his presence through the presence of the people that he has comforted, encouraged, revealed truth to, and given grace to as his instruments in the lives of others.

I was reminded of this again this week as I spent time with my friend Kent, God has taught him much and has revealed himself to him in many ways.  Thankfully my friend doesn’t keep all of that bottled up but shares it with me, allowing me to see and learn some of those same things about God.  If you find yourself searching for God’s presence and needing a word from him remember to spend time with those people in your life that God is growing, shaping, and using to reveal his glory.

God has those friends around for all of us, be sure to not overlook them, but instead to embrace them.  Seek to find friends that are living their lives with an awareness of God’s continual presence – learn and grow as they share God’s truth and grace with you and then become that kind of friend to someone else.  As God reveals himself to you ask him for opportunities to share with others that he might reveal himself through you.

I am so thankful for the many friends like Kent that God has given me, and hope I can be that kind of friend to others, a friend who can give others a sense of God’s presence.  You can learn more about my friend Kent here http://www.leastoftheseworldwide.com/

October 17, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

