GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Used?

I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received

Ephesians 4:1 NIV

Have you ever felt Used? The idea of being used can carry many meanings: Spent, abused, burnt out, taken advantage of, or employed.  I have recently been thinking of it in a different light – used by God – redeemed and energized by the Spirit of God to be involved in His work. 

I have been studying Ephesians lately and considering all that God has done to bring me into a relationship with Him – He chose me, redeemed me, called me to himself, translated me from death to life, sealed me with His Spirit, and then gifted me to be a part of his work.  This last week I really focused and thought through what it would look like to walk worthy of all He has done and of His call in my life. 

Understanding that concept begins with understanding that He has called me to make much of Him – to live for the praise of His glory…to shew forth His goodness and love through my life each day.  To get there I have to get past my doubt and the question that invades my thoughts, “could God really use me?”.  I need to be fully aware of the fact that He has called me into His family and into His church to use me – God could use me!

So how do I walk worthy so that I am useful?  Only through Jesus…It is all about Him.  Ephesians 4:7 says, But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it.  (NIV)  That grace enables me to walk worthy through a Christ-like lifestyle and through special acts of service in His church.  I must understand that it’s not just something I do, but it is who I am – a new creation of God, a follower of Jesus, prepared for His service.  I must put off the old and put on the new…otherwise to live out my true identity in Christ. I am not the same, God is at work within me through His Spirit.  His power resides inside of me – he can do far more than I can ask or even imagine.  His power overcomes death and infuses life – God use me to bring you glory as Jesus spills out of me. 

God connect me with others who are walking worthy that I might continue to grow up in Jesus.  He lived a life of radical faith, obedience, service, and sacrifice – God help me do the same.  So here I am God – I surrender to you, use me. Remind me to acknowledge your presence that I might be fully aware of your power at work within me. 

September 11, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

