GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Notafan – thoughts, questions, and statements

I recently preached a series called notafan – taking a deeper look at what it means to be a follower of Jesus instead of just a fan of Jesus.  We defined a fan as an enthusiastic admirer and a follower as a completely devoted, entirely surrendered, totally committed participant in Christ’s mission.  Here is how Jesus put it in Luke 9:23 (NLT)  If any of you wants to be my follower you must turn from your selfish ways take up your cross daily and follow.

As we finished up our small group last night I wrote down some things that God is teaching me or causing me to think through.  These are random but I thought some might be helpful to pass along.

  • When following Christ becomes difficult, I must remember God’s past faithfulness or else I will question His present activity when things don’t go the way I think they should.
  • When I don’t understand…I can either abandon Jesus and give up or press on and worship Him in the midst of it.
  • Is Jesus Enough?
  • We don’t do good things to be accepted by God, we do good things because we have been accepted by God because of the good thing that Jesus did for us when He paid our sin debt.
  • I should serve out of love not duty or duress – this ability grows as I understand how much God loves me.
  • Instead of trying to live for God, I should live with God – daily in His presence.
  • Do I spend more energy seeking to grow deeper in a relationship with God or more energy trying to be good enough?
  • What do I really love?
  • Would I follow if it cost me something? Is there a limit to that cost?  What if it cost me everything?
  • Am I willing to love and serve those who have nothing to offer me?
  • Am I more concerned about what I have or what I can give to others?
  • How many lives would be different if I decided to really follow Jesus?
  • Have I really surrendered to follow Jesus? Whatever, whenever, wherever He leads?
  • Following Christ is a decision that I must make daily – it is a journey, a process of growth.
  • I am not alone on this journey – Jesus is leading the way.

I am still learning to follow, but I am notafan!

 

December 12, 2011 - Posted by | discipleship

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

