GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Learning to Lead

Often times I find myself questioning my abilities and thinking about what I can do to become a better leader.  This week in studying Ephesians 1-3 and the concepts of God’s love and grace it dawned on me – too many times I focus way to much on me and not enough upon Christ.  My quest of becoming a better leader is best accomplished when I learn to be a better follower.  As I myself grow in my knowledge of God I am best able to help others grow – a better concept of leadership is ultimately learning to become a better follower of Christ.  After all isn’t this what His commission was to those early followers – teach others what you have seen and learned from me? (Matthew 28:18-20)  Lord help me understand more and more of who you are, what you have done, are doing, and will do through me if I get a grip on grace and gain an understanding of what you are able to do.

I have learned that God loves me because He is love, not because I am lovable.   Following requires me to understand His grace and understanding that He has saved me by that grace, has done for me what I could never do for myself, and has created me to be His masterpiece – no worries, He isn’t done yet – much more work is necessary.

An interesting thing happened to me yesterday – I was mowing my lawn and as I went into the street to turn around and go back for another swipe,  I was looking to my right at a Sheriff’s car in my neighbor’s drive.  What I didn’t see was the truck coming from my left.  Thankfully God had a different plan than me getting smashed…he swerved and slammed on his brakes, I swerved, and the potentially devastating collision was avoided.

This was just another act of God’s grace – I made a choice that could have been fatal, but He chose to let me live another day.  It caused me to think – He must have much more to do in me and through me – God help me to learn more about following Christ so I can lead others into your presence.

June 23, 2011 - Posted by | discipleship, hope

1 Comment »

  1. Glad you are okay PG! I love what you wrote about becoming a better follower to grow as a leader. good message for all of us as well!

    Comment by Heidi | June 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

