GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Learning to Lean

Proverbs 3:5,6

What is your lean?  For me, I have a tendency to lean towards discouragement.  I am not sure why, it is really confusing sometimes.  I mean really, a Pastor who should be “up” all the time knowing of God’s goodness and greatness shouldn’t be down, should he?  Oh well, maybe it is my “thorn in the flesh” (2Corinthians 12:7).  Anyway, that lean often leads me to living for moments instead of living in the minutes – Slowly wishing life away as I look to those “moments” (fishing, special outings, big events, vacations) instead of looking for what God is doing in the minutes.

So how can I deal with the way I feel?  I must learn to lean towards something else – someone else, that awesome and all powerful God that I speak about.  I have been reading the first few chapters of Proverbs asking God to add to my learning.  A proper view of God and His interaction with our lives is the starting place – God is teaching me that if my perspective doesn’t start with Him I will be overwhelmed instead of optimistic.  Truth is He is at work, intervening, interceding, and interjecting His grace and hope into our lives on a daily basis.  I don’t want to miss what God is doing in the minutes of my life.  When we live for the moments, we lose track of the minutes and find ourselves looking back regretfully of the time and opportunities that passed us by.

I am working on trusting God with all of my heart…this means not leaning on my own understanding but instead leaning on His promises to work everything together for my good and His glory.  (Romans 8)  I am also learning to acknowledge Him in all my ways = acting as if He is present every minute.  In these ways I am learning to lean hard on God so that I don’t lean towards discouragement.  I am asking Him to direct the steps of my life so that I can make the most of every minute.

I pray that you also learn to lean hard on God, looking to Him for everything in prayer – learning from His words the principles that lead to life.  God help us all learn to live in the minutes, fully embracing the lives that He is working out for each of us.

June 7, 2011 - Posted by | discipleship, hope

1 Comment »

  1. Something I most definitely need to learn as well….live in the minute and not for the moments. I have the overwhelming sense that I have “missed the boat” as far as pursuing the purpose God put me here for in the first place. Too easy to get sidetracked by “life.”

    BTW, who says pastors (or any of us, for that matter) are supposed to be “up” all the time? We are all human and struggle with things, no matter how close to God we may be. Life in this world wears us down; that’s part of the human condition. So don’t beat yourself up and think that just because you are a pastor, that you should always be on top of things emotionally. People who expect pastors to be perfectly “together” at all times have unrealistic expectations

    Comment by Becky Whittemore | June 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

