GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

God’s love – our basis for loving Him

I recently studied what Jesus termed the greatest of all commands, to love the Lord your God with all of your heart and all of your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.  Loving God with all can be very intimidating…we struggle to understand what that means because we are so often drained by our feelings instead of being driven by our faith.  That faith grows as we learn about how fully God loves us – If we could just learn how to fully love Him, we would then learn to  fully enjoy our  life in Him.  As we learn of His love it compels us to live with Him instead of dying without Him.  The Bible tells us that we are to love God with everything we are and everything we can so that we can achieve everything that He has created us for and so that we can enjoy everything that He has created for us.  

I got to thinking what is my basis for loving God?  As I prayed and pondered this, I began to understand it all depends on my understanding of God’s love for me.  Here are some things that I have learned about God’s love…

God’s Love:

  • Is because of who He is not what we have done…1John 4:8-10
  • Is constant and consistent…Romans 8:38-39
  • Is demonstrated through the death of His son for our sin…Romans 5:8
  • Is defined by sacrifice 1John3:16
  • Is unending…Jeremiah 31.3
  • Is our motivation for living for Him …2Corinthians 5:14

This understanding of God’s love is so important because we often gauge His love on our performance, we often think if we could just do better or achieve greater success at living the “Christian life” then He would love us more.  Getting past our feelings and moving into a life of faith begins with this reality: God loves us just the way we are but loves us to much to leave us that way.   Gods love for us flows out of His character and not mine, nothing can separate us from His love, it is always available and my actions or lack thereof cannot change the intensity of it.

I encourage you to join me in studying the verses mentioned above and to build up your faith based on the facts that we learn about God’s love for us.  Learning the facts of God’s love for us will allow us to live a life that truly loves Him.

February 22, 2011 - Posted by | discipleship

2 Comments »

  1. The only way I can explain why God would choose to love me with all my imperfections, weaknesses and failures is simply because He IS love……it is beyond my comprehension otherwise. Humbling.

    Comment by Becky Whittemore | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks Greg, good stuff. I’ll be studying these verses with you

    Comment by Ryan | February 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

