GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

In ALL thing give THANKS

Here are some thoughts from my thanksgiving musings.

Can we escape being thankful “when things are good” and being miserable “when life is hard”?  Can we be truly thankful in all things and all circumstances?  The Bible says this is God’s will for us (1Thessalonians 5:18), so I set out to figure out a way to give thanks in ALL things.  I want to come to God with thanksgiving, but often find myself just asking Him to give me more of life as I want it.  The following acrostic for THANKS has helped me and I pray that it helps you to become thankful, not just when all is well, but even when things are not seeming to go your way.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations. Psalm 100:4,5

  • Trust God at all times (when you cannot trace His hand, you can always trust His Heart) Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.  Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:3,4
  • Humble Dependence upon God – When we look to him instead of looking within or looking around, we find exactly what we need.  Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up. James 4:10
  • Anticipate Good – God has a purpose and is working things out according to His plan.  And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28
  • Never Alone – God has called us out of a life that was separate from Him to a life in which He is ever present –  He is always there with us.  We don’t have to fret about what we have or don’t have, but instead remember who has us and whose we are.  Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.”  What can man do to me. Hebrews 13:5,6
  • Know God is watching and working – He is fully aware of all that is going on in and around our lives and is actively intervening to carry us through.  The eyes of the LORD are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their cry; Psalm 34:15
  • Salvation is our guarantee that God will not ever let us down.  If He gave Christ for us, we can be sure of our importance to Him and His continual intervention on our behalf.  (Romans 8:31,32)  God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.  2Corinthians 5:21

I still struggle with giving thanks all the time in all things, but God is teaching me that I can be thankful because my life is in His hands.  I have learned that we can be thankful in all circumstances by finding joy in Jesus!!! He is our source of life and in Him we are secure, He is our hope and through Him we are saved and safe.

 

November 26, 2010 - Posted by | hope

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

