GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Transformed Thoughts (Romans 12:1-8)

I have accepted God’s gift of life, believing that Christ died for me, was buried, and rose again. I have turned from a life of sin and now live a life surrendered to God – I am significant, not because of me, but because of Christ in me.  I am not alone, but instead I am part of the body of Christ – gifted and designed to serve Christ with other members of His family.  I am now being transformed by God’s Spirit, fully equipped for God’s work.  Part of that transformation is in the way I think – instead of being shaped by the world’s views, values, and vices, I am being redesigned and renewed in my thought processes by the Word of God.

Here are some thoughts that God has worked into my life:

  1. Renewing the Mind = Right views of self, God, and Life
  2. Thinking straight is learning to think biblically
  3. I must remember that without Christ I am nothing, but with Him I have been given everything…I am somebody because I am in Him.
  4. Thoughts should be determined by the facts of God’s Word, not by emotions that are constantly changing because of life’s circumstances.

Here are three views that God is working into my mind:

  • View of Self – I am blessed -I am now in Christ – surrendered to God, living my life for Him alone – gifted to serve as a part of His body. (Romans 12:1-8; Ephesians 1:3-14)
  • View of God – He is Good –He has graciously accepted me into His family, He has given me everything I need to live for Him. (Psalm 100)
  • View of Life – Life is Christ, I am now living for His cause, using the gift He has given me to serve in His body.  (Ephesians 2:10; Philippians 1:21)

Please comment on this post, copy and paste the following in your comment and fill in the blanks to describe your transformation…Please share your verse too.

  1. View of Self – I am ______________________
  2. View of God – He is _____________________
  3. View of Life – Life is ____________________
March 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Maybe I’m an overachiever, but I added one to complete my theme. 🙂

    View of Life: Life is a sport
    View of God: God is the greatest coach
    View of Self: I am in the game
    View of the Bible: The Bible is the perfect play-book

    *********

    Anyone who calls themselves a Christian is on God’s team…and the good thing is that there are an unlimited number of positions on the fields. Unfortunately, far too many are content with simply riding the pine. My hope and prayer is that when people look at me they don’t see me standing on the sidelines, but rather see me in the game striving for victory.

    Comment by Jacob Pilkinton | March 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I forgot to add my verses…I wasn’t really able to find a verse that worked well saying the Bible is like a play-book. 🙂

      *** View of Life: Hebrews 12:1 (NIV) ***

      Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

      *** View of God: Jon 14:26 (NIV) ***

      But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

      *** View of Self: 1st Corinthians 9:24 (NIV) ***

      Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

      Comment by Jacob Pilkinton | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. lanks to describe your transformation…Please share your verse too.

    1.View of Self – I am ___forgiven___1John 1:9_______________
    2.View of God – He is my sustanance. _I live because of Him, and I live for Him, knowing that everything I have, and everything I am is because He has given it to me.__________________
    3.View of Life – Life is His, and I give it back freely.____________________

    Comment by Roberta TenHarmsel | March 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

