GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Do we really believe? (John 3:16; Revelation 20:11-15)

This week I was blown away as I spent the weekend with a bunch of teenagers at a Dare2Share conference in Chicago.  Our hearts were challenged and changed as we thought through the GOSPEL.  Following are a few of the thoughts that challenged me the most:

  • If I really believe in Heaven why don’t I think about it more?  Why don’t I live as if my best life is yet to come as a citizen of Heaven, instead of being so connected to the things of this life on Earth?
  • If I really believe that Hell is a real place – where people who don’t place their faith in Jesus to accept His free gift of life, are going to suffer forever… Why don’t I do more to share the gospel with them?
  • I was totally blown away by a quote shared from Penn of the Vegas act, Penn & Teller: Penn who is an atheist said – how much would you have to hate someone to not tell them about Hell if you really believed that people were headed there?
  • If we saw someone about to get hit by a truck we would do everything we could to save them…why don’t we do all we can to tell people about Jesus and try to keep people from going to Hell?
  • Jesus did not need us to share the good news of the Gospel, but He choose to use us!!!
  • Live for the cause – make disciples who will make disciples.

God is starting a revolution through our teenagers – I watched several incredible students cry over lost friends, pray for their salvation, and then share the hope of the Gospel with them.  I was especially blessed as I listened to my two daughters talk about what He was doing in their hearts.

Wow God – thank you for loving us!  Jesus talked about Hell and warned people about it 11 times in the Gospels.  God doesn’t want anyone to be eternally separated from Him and it must break His heart that people reject His free gift of love and life.  He loved everyone so much that He gave Jesus to die for their sins so that they could be forgiven, escape Hell, and be reconciled to Him.  Thank you Jesus for dying in for us, so that we can live for you!

God I believe, but help my unbelief…Please help my heart to be broken for the things that breaks your heart – lost people dying without Jesus and going to Hell to live in eternal torment.  Help me to realize the gravity of that situation – help me to understand that I know and meet people everyday that need the hope that you have given to me.  Help me to share the Gospel with others and use me to lead them to Jesus.

March 22, 2010 - Posted by | discipleship, vision

1 Comment »

  1. pg,

    Thanks for sharing and for your burden for the lost…it’s been a blessing to be in Haiti and have many of the same thoughts, that there must be something more, that regeneration, transformation and justice are coming. Oh, may His kingdom come to the trash, rubble filled streets of Port-au-Prince, the fast highways and biways of affluent America and the ends of the earth! We can only experience this regeneration if we trust in Him who satisfied the justice of God. Thanks for shepherding His people and being an inspiration to us! dp

    Comment by David Peters | March 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

