GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Dependent – Life is sustained through prayer

Earlier this past week I came upon Psalm 62 and was intrigued as I read: I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will never be shaken (Psalm 62:1,2 NLT).  It was as if God asked me, “Greg what are you depending on?”  I had to stop and think.  It was if God then said, “If you are depending upon anything other than me, then you are setting yourself up for disappointment.   “I have made myself available to you through Jesus, and you can now approach my throne with full confidence that I understand and will provide just what you need in every situation and or circumstance that comes your way.” (Hebrews 4:13-16)

Life requires sustenance – we simply cannot live without breath in our lungs.  Spiritual life also needs to be sustained and it is through prayerful dependence upon our Heavenly Father that we can breathe deeply and freely.  When the circumstances of life try to choke the life out of us, a constant connection with God through prayer will keep us breathing His pure air that invigorates our lives.

The problem is that many times we misunderstand the privilege of prayer and abuse it or avoid it.  But there is hope – the Bible gives us some clear guidelines about prayer:

  1. We should always pray so that we don’t give up (Luke 18:1) – we accomplish this by acknowledging God in everything (Psalms 37:3-7; Proverbs 3:5,6).
  2. We can approach God confidently as His children (Matthew 7:7-11).
  3. We should approach God with reverence, respect, and repentance: remember that He is God and we desperately need His mercy and grace (Luke 18:9-14)
  4. We can overcome worry and instead enjoy peace by taking everything to God in prayer (Philippians 4:6-8, 13,19).
  5. We can see our prayers answered if we will pray according to God’s Will and Word (1John 5:14,15)

So now I am trying to live each day in His presence – fueled by His power, totally surrendered to His direction, and totally dependent upon His intervention and interaction in my life.



February 15, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

