GregoryCooper's Blog

thoughts from a Christ follower

Great for God in 2010

Great for God in 2010

 

There are two questions we all should consider as we approach this new year:

  1. What do I hope to accomplish for God this year?
  2. How can I do that? (What will be necessary, needed, and required of me?)

* If we hope to be great for God this year there are a few keys to our success.   First let’s consider what it means to be great for God.

  • Being great for God doesn’t mean He makes me great, but means I make His greatness known to others.
  • To be great at making Him known, I must know Him myself.

The keys to this kind of greatness are listed below with some suggestions for further study and consideration and some questions to think about.  These keys are all qualities that can be clearly seen in the life of Christ – may we follow in His footsteps and be great for God.

We can be great for God by being:

1. Driven – motivated by finding glory in and bringing glory to God.  John 17:1-5  Jesus lived to do the Father’s work and to bring the Father glory.  We are to be a reflection of His light (Matt. 5:16).  – (Study –  Jeremiah 9:23,24 – Colossians 3)  What drives me? What am I living for?

 

2. Directed – a life surrendered to God’s leading.

John 8:28, 29  So Jesus said, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, z then you will know that I am  the one I claim to be  and that I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me. The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him.” (Study John 16:13; Galatians 5)  –Whose direction am I following?

3. Developed – a mind saturated by God’s Word.  Luke 2:40-52

Jesus learned the Scriptures, He often quoted the prophets,  and He taught the disciples from the Word about Him (Matthew 13:54; Luke 24:27) – (Study – Joshua 1, Psalm 1, 2 Timothy 3:14-17)  What fills my thoughts and floods my mind?

4. Dependent – a life that is sustained through prayer.

Mk 1:35 Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed. (Study –  Luke 18:1-10; Philippians 4)  What am I counting on?

January 10, 2010 - Posted by | discipleship

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

